|Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday
9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
1515 W Koenig Lane
Austin, TX 78756-1415
What are the minimum auto liability insurance requirements in Texas?
Texas requires drivers to carry a certain amount of auto liability insurance because, in the event you cause an accident, it pays to repair or replace the other driver's car and pays the other people's medical expenses. There are other kinds of coverage to add on to your auto insurance, but the state does require a set amount of liability insurance.
In Austin and the rest of Texas, you have to carry the minimum amount of liability insurance to be able to drive. You must take out a policy that has the following limits:
Remember, these are just the minimum requirements. There is a chance that if you cause an accident, it's still not going to be enough coverage. If that happens, the other driver or drivers could sue you to collect the difference. If you are able to pay for more coverage, it's highly recommended since one bad at-fault accident can send you far into debt.
If you drive without the minimum amount of liability insurance, your first conviction will be between a $175 and $350 fine. If you keep breaking the law, your fine could be as high as $1,000 and your car might be impounded.
If you were involved in a car accident in Austin and the driver who hit you didn't have enough insurance, you can sue to get the rest of the money that you deserve. Contact experienced car accident attorney Earl Straight for a free consultation at 512-454-1331.